Week 41

October 11th is National Coming Out Day. I decided that there would be no better day than to embrace my sexual identity. For the first time I publicly announced on facebook that I was gay. Most readers know that over the past year I’ve struggled with who I am. I eventually came out to my parents which wasn’t the best day in the world.

Some of you may be thinking, “what’s the big deal?” I was always hesitant on facebook, because in this society it’s the last piece in the puzzle. I’m friends with relatives, distant relatives, employers, the kid I used to babysit, and a bunch of other people that I imagined would disown me for being gay. So on October 11th, I did a social media blitz, and  I outed myself for good on facebook, twitter, tumblr, and instagram.

As soon as I posted it I made sure to steer clear of the internet for the rest of the day. When I finally went to see how the news went over I was shocked at how positive everyone was. People I hadn’t talked to in years had congratulated me. The distant relatives sent loving messages and the outpour was overwhelming. The world didn’t stop spinning. I was so concerned with what my southern relatives might think I tried to stay quiet. I even thought about deleting them before publicly coming out. I decided however that I should just be me and let it be. They all sent me loving messages and I finally feel at peace with myself. I can start being who I am.

“Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” -Dr. Seuss

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 41

  1. C says:

    congrats on a great day 😀

  2. Kristi says:

    I love you for you! So proud of you. Got the goosebumps reading.

Leave a Reply

