Week 40

Holy cow I’ve hit forty weeks. Isn’t that the span of an entire pregnancy? I think it is. Today was a pretty monumental day for me. This week is “coming out week” at my school in honor of National Coming Out Day which is recognized on October 11th. It started out with a flag raising ceremony which I was asked to speak at.

Here’s a snippet of my speech:

“Growing up I was picked on and I used to imagine a day when I could have a fresh start. I came to college ready for a new beginning but I couldn’t do it. I wasn’t ready. It took a while but I finally got tired of living a lie. I embraced the truth and just decided to be myself. It’s the best decision I’ve ever made.

It’s important that no one lives in fear of who they are. To the allies in the crowd, stand up proudly and be a supporter. Visibility matters. It might be scary thought but the world needs active allies. Think of is as standing up for equality for everyone.

 Everyone in the world is like a cupcake. We’re all different colors, textures, and flavors but at the end of the day we’re all still dessert. Every cupcake has something that makes them special. It might be a chocolate center, homemade butter cream frosting, special wrappers or sprinkles. The most unique cupcakes however are the ones with the sprinkles on the inside because no two are the same. These types of cupcakes might not be brave enough to carry their sprinkles on the outside but they’re special in a way that they aren’t like any other cupcakes. Once you get the wrapper off you can see that they’re like everyone else. Rainbow cupcakes are still dessert. Cupcakes just want to be eaten.

My favorite author, Dr. Seuss, has a quote, “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

It’s especially important to think about during coming out week. There is nothing wrong with being who you are and you shouldn’t let anyone else let you feel otherwise. Be proud of yourself because there’s nobody better at being you than yourself.”

Speaking at the rally.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 40

  1. Jocelyn Schneider says:

    Casey Coleman, you are one extraordinary person ❤
    -Jocelyn

Leave a Reply

