Week 32

I went to the dentist this week and your homeboy definitely doesn’t floss enough. I didn’t have any cavities but my time in the chair got me thinking about white lies. Most people lie to cover their hineys but the truth more often than not prevails. Normally I’d tell my dentist that “I floss regularly,” but I didn’t even bother and it didn’t even matter because she knew. A lot of time people can tell when we lie but we keep doing it. We say that “We’re tired,” or “We have headaches,” when we don’t feel like doing something. “Car troubles” aren’t why we’re late to work. We go to all these extra (stressful)  lengths to hide things. Just try embracing the truth and stand up for yourself because you’re not fooling anybody but yourself.

I live at home for about 12 weeks out of the year. These 12 weeks are split up over a few breaks and holidays. Each time I come back it gets increasing difficult to deal with sleeping in a bunk bed.

I love my parents to death and I’ve said before how I think I’ve outgrown the nest (and my bed) but this past week at home just keeps reiterating the fact. Since coming out, living at home has become less fun. The relationship between my mother and I is definitely strained but I’m confident with time it will get better. My truthful mouth got me in trouble because she’s currently mad at me.

One night this past week she gave me two options for dinner, chicken or pork chops. I chose chicken and she wanted to know why I didn’t want the chops. I tried telling her politely that I don’t care for them in general but she kept prodding. She later found out that I  never cared for her stone age recipe for leather. She’s mad at me but I’m pretty sure she’s using it as a coping mechanism because I’m leaving shortly to go back to school for the rest of the year.

I’m beginning to realize that I need to work harder to acquire my dream job after college to ensure that I won’t have to move back home. I know this will require a lot from me during my last two years at school but I can’t slow down.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

p.s. I’d love to hear about some lies you always tell so feel free to drop one in the comments.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

