Week 31

My summer job wrapped up this past week with our last orientation and a nice banquet to end on a high note. I was able to successfully work at my school as an orientation leader and not be fired, which was something I feared before accepting the job in the spring. The days of work were very long but rewarding. I successfully stayed honest with myself and my beliefs all while helping freshman get adjusted to college. I couldn’t actually bring myself to tell students to take Saturday classes, like my bosses wanted me to.

At the banquet many “goodbyes” were said to one another and “I’ll miss you’s” were exchanged. You might not realize it but I think “I miss you,” is one of the biggest lies we tell. “I miss you” is used as fluff now-a-days for when we have nothing to say. I will miss some of the people I’ve been working with but not everyone. There are some people who will be lucky if I wave to them in the fall. I didn’t waste my time with fake pleas to people I don’t care about. I focused on the ones who are really important to me. Life is too short to be dishonest and deal with people we don’t like.

Think about how many people you are fake to on a daily basis.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 31

  1. Agreed! I miss you’s are fake a lot of the time.. and over used. It gets awkward when you don’t say it back though, I’m still trying to think of something else to say when someone says they miss me besides saying “I miss YouTube” really fast.. haha. Hey, that might not be a lie.

    Edwin

Leave a Reply

