Week 29

I have seven years of babysitting experience. For the right price I’ve been kicked, spit on, had food thrown at, and dealt with my fair share of tantrums. I like to think that I’m a pretty cool babysitter so I would always tell the families that the kids were great, regardless of behavior. This past weekend however I couldn’t do that. I had to babysit for family and I just let my aunt know how the kids actually were. I didn’t have to hide anything and it wasn’t a problem.

Everything at my job hasn’t been perfect. I’ve definitely learned that the truth is important when communicating with people. When something bothers you, bring it up right away. When we bottle things up it only gets worse. Today I brought up a problem I was having with a coworker and it totally blew up in my face. She took it the wrong way. Initially I didn’t feel bad because not everyone can handle the truth. I later went back and made sure that everything was alright for the sake of productivity. We talked it out and voiced our concerns. Everything is okay and I’m glad I spoke up.

While I’ve had a bunch of fans at orientations, I’ve definitely gained a few new enemies as well. Not everyone appreciates my honesty, so much so that I’ve had a few students curse at me. Most students are cranky and get frustrated when it comes to registering for classes. I deal with them the best I can while being honest. Angry students that hate me don’t phase me for a few reasons. It’s not the end of the world. Not everyone is going to like you. It’s a fact of life. Not everyone can tolerate the truth and they don’t like to hear what doesn’t make them happy. I’m just the messenger in most of these situations so it doesn’t phase me if a student hates me. I get enough enjoyment out of the job that I can sleep soundly at night.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 29

  1. Donna says:

    Hi Casey,
    I just finished reading all of your blog posts about your honesty project. Congratulations on your accomplishments and the maturity you’ve gained through this.

    If you don’t mind, I would like to offer you one piece of advice: being completely honest does not mean that you are obligated to answer any and every question that someone asks you about yourself. You always have the option of saying, “I would rather not share that with you” or “I don’t think that is any of your business”.

    For example, you described how you went to Jamaica with your family and met someone who was visiting from Mississippi who asked you if you were gay (I hope I’m remembering the details correctly). Honesty or no honesty policy, this was an instance where the question simply shouldn’t have been answered – it wasn’t her business and it was rude of her to have asked.

    Not answering her question doesn’t mean that you are ashamed of your sexuality, it just means that this is a proper response to an invasion of your privacy by an impolite stranger. Do strangers normally ask people if their breasts are real or how many sexual partners they have had? Again, not their business and you aren’t obligated to answer it, as it has no bearing on your self-oath to honesty.

    Wishing you the best on your journey…
    Donna

Leave a Reply

