Week 27

This fall I was supposed to be an RA in a year old state-of-the-art residence hall. On Friday I received an email from my boss telling me that she had “news to share” with me. Gulp. Of course my first instinct was that I was being fired. My mind always wonders to the worst possible outcomes. I later learned that wasn’t the case, it was actually quite opposite. People were fighting over me.

There was an opening in our apartment style LGBTQ living community and I was at the top of the list. This came as a surprise to me, but apparently there were multiple recommendations. My initial reaction was disappointment, because the past five months have been spent on me banking on being in a building where I know how everything works. I knew the staff and I was comfortable with it. This new complex I’m going to is run a lot differently and naturally we fear what we don’t know. I voiced these concerns with my old boss and she knows I can do it. I just felt the need to be honest with her and share my fears. There are higher expectations for this community but I’m getting ready to embrace the challenge. At the end of the day I’m a team player and I’ll do what it takes, so it looks like I’ll be breaking out of my comfort zone come August. I know I’m ready for the extra responsibility. I’m warming up to it and before you know it I’ll be up to my nipples in excitement for my residents to move in.

This weekend my friends and I were playing a card game that had various rules. One rule involved insulting another player which I found difficult to do at points. (We’re good people I swear.) He knew I could only tell the truth instead of joking around about it. I managed for a while but towards the end I honestly couldn’t come up with mean things to say. In a weird way I think it brought us closer together.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another post about Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

