Week 26

I’ve officially passed the halfway point! I’ve been honest for a full six months. Check back on Friday for a reflective post marking my progress so far.

This week I had two groups of students to work with which was highly rewarding. These students looked up to me as a leader and believe everything I am telling them. As a role model I’m doing my best to do what is right for them while remaining truthful. While helping some students register, we stumbled upon some Saturday classes. The office I’m working for is encouraging us to tell them to take Saturday classes, and that’s just something I really can’t get behind. I decided that I need to be honest with them now. If I were to lie to them now, eventually the truth will come out. I’d rather have a student be honestly dissatisfied up front than a semester from now realize they made the wrong choice. It’s just something I can’t have on my conscious. I’ve been helpful and done my best to navigate them through the trenches of my school. Students are asking me “What is easiest course?” or “Who is the best professor?” and I’m telling them the truth that I honestly don’t know. I’m only one guy and I’ve only taken certain classes. I try and spin it back to them, “Well if you like art and cultures you might enjoy that class.”

It’s nice knowing I don’t have to compromise who I am. These students look up to me and I don’t have to feel guilty because I know I’m being helpful while remaining truthful.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 26

Leave a Reply

