Week 21

Think of how many white lies you tell on a weekly basis:

I love your catfish cassarole mom!

I can’t hang out tonight because I’m sick.

I never got your text. That’s so weird.

You look great in that top.

They add up and those were the lies I miss telling. They just made my life easier because you can avoid problems or people that you don’t want to deal with.

Now in high school I was a bit of a fibber. I’d tell my parents I was going to a friends house when I really wasn’t. I wasn’t doing anything bad, I just hated explaining to them where I’d be going. I’d always tell them I was going to my best friends house just because it was easier for me. I also used to “cherry-pick” a lot. When making plans I would bail the “less fun” options. I didn’t do this often, but if something better came up last minute I’d try and find a way out. I was the king of excuses. White lies were so convenient for me.

This week I went to visit a good friend from high school named Rachel. We meet up on breaks from school and catch up on each other’s lives in a booth at McDonald’s. We’ve been doing this for years but I always just told my mom I was going to my best friends house. Why? My mom wouldn’t understand why I would do something like that. Well the years of white lies came to a low boil this week because when I told my mom what I was actually doing she didn’t understand. She gave me about 88 seconds worth of grief and then I was on my way out the door.

Catching up was nice and she shared with me a small story I’d like to share with you all. She essentially told me that I make her wanna be more honest. (Which I’ve gotten a lot.) She’s following up on it and applying the truth in more situations and she told me,

“I’m being more honest and nothing bad happens.” 

Did you get that? She told her boss she didn’t do something instead of coming up with a white lie to cover her back. So this upcoming week I hope to inspire you all to leave the white lies at home. Tackle your problems with the truth and see where it takes you.

All these instances in life have me thinking that maybe lying is overrated. Now that I’ve stopped lying I feel like I’ve strengthened my word. Telling the truth has set me on the right path and I feel good about it. Life is too short to be anything but happy. Use the truth and don’t be afraid to be you. No one can do it better.

Truthfully (and happily) yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 21

  1. C says:

    you got a good thing going on

  2. Casey, I think the whole concept behind your blog is wonderful I am so glad I was able to read some of it. I hope you make it to a full a year 🙂

Leave a Reply

