Week 20

I spent the past week in Jamaica on vacation with my family. It was a nice break for me because my hectic summer job will be starting up soon. We stayed at a resort and most of my days were filled with tanning by the pool or napping on the beach. I befriended a graduating class from Mississippi which was quite the experience. One Mississippian, Casey, and I became friends. She was fascinated by the “New Jersey culture.” I informed her that Seaside Heights is only a blip on our coastline and that I don’t personally know Snooki. She had heard a lot of rumors about the east coast and I used the truth to clean them up for her. (For example, most of the Jersey Shore cast isn’t from New Jersey.)

She just blatantly asked me if I was gay, which I wasn’t expecting. I didn’t really think it was appropriate to just ask. On first thought I didn’t want to answer, but anything else would have been a lie. My friend was right when he told me it would be an everyday thing.

Some people in life are living a lie. I guess I used to be one of those people. I spent so much of my life just confused and in denial. I’ve shed that all off and now I’m embracing myself. Not everyone in life is capable doing that though and it’s sad. The truth won’t always be comfortable and it takes time to warm up to. A lot of people fear the truth and spend much of life trying to run away from it. It takes time to figure things out. I dealt with one person this past week who was resting on a bed of lies. I wish this person could be braver but I’m proud of myself for finally standing up for myself and saying something.

I thought my world was gonna crumble when I came out to my parents. It didn’t. It’s all new. My Mom is warming up to it although she still has some questions. My friends and even readers have shown me support which has been nothing but helpful. For that I thank them.

Below is some of the positive feedback I received:

The truth might be scary, but if you embrace it you might reap some great rewards.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 20

  1. Lorre says:

    You are right. It is rude to just ask, but I guess there was a comfort level there and also….soe people are still innocent like kids, which can be charming and annoying at the same time. But I digress, good for you with being honest. That’s something most us us can’t do for a week, let alone a year. Keep going with it. Maybe it will be contagious.
    Also, thanks for following my Poetic Dumpster Diving blog. If you are ever up for a potluck of insane, fun and whatever else I pull out of my hat, then visit my 2nd blog (posted on site).

Leave a Reply

