Week 18

As I write this post, I’m deep in the trenches studying for finals. Finals have been insane this week. The library is jam packed and Red Bull fumes fill the air. Finding a good seat is like fighting for a lifeboat on the Titanic. There’s a girl in one of my classes that irks the life out of me. She’s the type who asks to study with you and then spends the entire session complaining about the professor and copying work. I know this because I’ve dealt with it firsthand.

She texted me this week asking to study together. I told her “no.” I need my time for this class because I’m on the cusp of an A. After a little more sternness, she finally got the message. Today at the library she texted me saying, “Hey are you at the library?” I couldn’t ignore her because that falls under a lie of omission so I told her where I was. She only wanted to make photocopies of something. She asked to work together and I told her no again. I knew she would be a distraction and in the fifteen minutes I dealt with her today she was venting about class instead of actually being productive. I was honest and told her I wanted to be alone. She got the hint and finally left. Let’s hope I ace this final.

I’ve spent so much time in the library I’ve actually made a new friend. Her name is Lindsay and I know her through my friend Nick. We’ve been spending a lot of time this past week cramming for finals, reading, and writing papers. It’s nice to have someone watch your stuff when you need to grab a coffee. The three of us were studying when Lindsay found out about my little project. She didn’t believe me so she started asking me plenty of questions. Some people might think of it as interrogation but it didn’t bother me. She asked questions about herself and Nick trying to catch me in a lie. I wasn’t phased and she actually said, “Now that I think about it, you don’t lie.”

She ended up telling me “I’ve been thinking about this whole honesty thing and I think it would be really hard to do.”

As far as relationships in my life go it’s always good to be open and honest with people. I’ve definitely learned this year that if you can be honest with others they will be honest back. Hopefully I’m building a strong foundation for something that can be promising.

Be open with people. Don’t be scared. You never know what will stem from honesty.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 18

  1. hq2u says:

    Dear Casey ,
    Someone told me once she was a pathological lier , she lied about everything , likes and dislikes just because she can , I know a good lie is like a drug , the more you have , the more you want .
    honestly I have told so many lies in my life i can’t keep track of them anymore , in service to a friend , in service to my self , and in rare occasions , not to rock the boat , and cause apocalypse
    But arriving to this point in my life , I have come to relies I don’t have to , I ended some relationship that didn’t work out , and started telling me its the new me
    since the first of Jan this year , I promised to be a lie free human being , managed to slip once or twice , but Im determined to stay sober
    Best of luck
    HQ

Leave a Reply

