Week 16

Survey says, “You are incompetent and have cancelled class an unhealthy amount of times but I don’t care because I don’t wanna take this class to begin with.”

This week my school has been sending out surveys and evaluations for everything imaginable. I’ve filled out three teacher evaluations and about four or five surveys about various campus resources. My school wants my opinion on how my professors are behaving and they are getting the truth from me. One professor isn’t really up to par and I’m making sure it’s known. My school also wants to know how all of the resources offered stack up and I made sure to fill it out honestly. I let them know the one credit “Welcome to College” classes are pointless, the print labs feel like I’m diffusing a bomb, and that I’d rather eat expired peanut butter than frequent the dining hall.

This week I was supposed to read for one of my classes and I didn’t. My professor called on me to summarize it and I told him I didn’t read it. I wasn’t alone and he actually understood. He pushed the assignment back a week.

This week at work we have been calling potential freshman to tell them the deposit day is coming up. We are also calling to ease the process and answer questions for them. Out of the hundred plus people I called this week only one had multiple questions for me.

She was in a place that was all too familiar to me. She had been accepted to two schools. The first (my school) is cheaper but offered her nothing and the second is almost double but offered her a large amount of money in scholarships. My senior year of high school I was in the same boat and I told her flat out how it feels. I told her it wouldn’t matter to me where she went but that she should go where she felt like she belonged.

We talked for almost fifteen minutes. She heard a lot of rumors and had questions that I answered to the best of my ability. At the end of the day her happiness is more important than if she goes to school A or B. We could easily fill her spot but with my honesty it seemed like her heart belonged to my school. Only time will tell. She thanked me and told me that she had been crying earlier because she was so torn.

Telling the truth (when it’s positive) makes me feel better. I feel at ease as of late. Let’s hope this feeling keeps through finals.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

