Week 15

Think about the white lies you tell on a day to day basis. “Sorry I can’t go, I have a headache.” “I was stuck in traffic that’s why I’m two hours late.” “My cat ate it.” Instead I’m telling my friends I’m late because I was pooping, and I’m telling my professors that I didn’t do the homework because I thought it was boring.  I miss telling white lies. White lies are good for society because they just make everything easier. It’s so much simpler to just use an excuse rather than face the truth. I’m 15 weeks in and that is probably one of the hardest parts so far.

This week I was interviewed for a video that will be shown to incoming freshman. Everyone had rehearsed their answers except for me because I was chosen on the fly to participate. I answered candidly and honestly of course. Questions ranged from advice for students, and things I wish I knew coming in. One question that faced the harsh truth was when I was asked about the food on campus. I am not a fan, and I made it known. I’m sure they will edit that part out but I couldn’t lie to incoming freshman about something I don’t believe myself.

The truth isn’t made for everyone. A lot of people want the truth but only when it’s what they expect. When it’s negative, hurtful, something that they are too blind to see, or just refuse to accept, well that’s when things get messy. As soon as people hear things they don’t like they get defensive. People might get mad at you and may not appreciate your honesty, but that’s okay. Time will eventually fix things and if it doesn’t than at least you can grow from the experience. At the end of the day I know I’m doing the right thing even if others don’t see it.

Life seemed easier when I could lie, but I’ve always liked challenges.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

