Week 13

A lot of things in life are contagious. Think about it. Diseases, colds, communism, cheesy pop music (Call Me Maybe), silly fads, and rumors are all things that can easily be spread. But I’m not talking about germs, plagues, or things you can buy, but ideas.

All it takes is one idea or act to change something. It just takes one action to rub off on others and take off. This week I had a handful of people come up to me and tell me I’ve inspired them to be more honest. Now I’m not saying I’ve started some epidemic (Snuggies, the Macarena, or the concept of global warming) but that it’s nice knowing I’ve encouraged people to do things, for the better. It’s nice knowing that my honesty is rubbing off on people. This weird social experiment isn’t going as I expected it, and I like it.

This week at my school it’s time to register for housing. Everyone has been stressing out about where to live and more importantly, who to live with. Next year I’ll be a Community Assistant, or an RA as you might know it. I get my own room but I have a suite mate. Someone I know, let’s call him Erik, asked to be my suite mate. I told him no. Erik is a really nice guy but he’s a little socially awkward. I don’t really know much about him and I just didn’t want to live with him. (It’s a big commitment!) So I had to own up and be honest about it. Erik is on a list of people who could potentially be CA’s next year so I told him that I’d rather have one suite mate all year rather than lose him mid year. He seemed a little bummed about it but understood. In a normal situation I’d just lie my face off and say I had already chosen my suite mate. I decided to leave it up to fate, let’s hope it doesn’t bite me in the butt.

April Fool’s Day also passed this week. Now I’m not in 4th grade anymore, but occasionally it’s nice to tell a little fib for a chuckle. Not this year though. A friend asked me to “like” his fake relationship on Facebook or comment to keep the gag going. I declined to participate because I knew it was a ruse.

There are some people in my life that know I’m being honest all the time. Some people use it to their advantage, while some people seem to be steering clear of my direction. I had a friend this week ask me for relationship advice simply because I’m honest and I was an unbiased factor in the situation.

April showers bring May flowers.

April is a rainy month which is followed by regrowth. Maybe this rain can be a good opportunity to clean your slate and allow the truth to flower in what used to be a bed of lies. You be the gardener and decide whether or not you want it to blossom. Be warned, you might actually like what you smell.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 13

  1. Neil says:

    Hey Casey!
    Wow, love your blog. Keep up the great work! And keep being honest. 🙂
    Neil

  2. Nina says:

    love you casey.

Leave a Reply

