Week 12

Part of being honest means you can’t play both sides. Hiding the truth is just as bad as lying. A friend helped me come to this realization so with that being said I made sure to be fully honest with myself and everyone else I come into contact with. I’m growing and I need to figure myself. I shouldn’t fear the truth but that’s easier said than done.

Work this week has been pretty positive. The families on tour seem to appreciate my honesty. A woman this week asked me what was it like to deal with some of the professional staff in various offices on campus. I simply replied, “It’s like dragging your feet through hell.”

That’s the honest truth, I explained to her that some people just happen to have an attitude. I also gave her and her daughter advice on how to avoid getting into situations where you would have to be involved with those people in the first place.

I had a meeting with my boss this week and she told me she was happy I was honest with her about missing my meeting. I simply told her I had forgotten. She was glad I didn’t give her an excuse.

I had to be honest with myself about my commitment to what I do on campus. I’m very involved and I had an opportunity to become more involved this week. I made a decision, after heavily weighing things out, I decided shouldn’t over exert myself next year. I want to be available for my residents seeing as they will be a top priority. If I spread myself too thin I’d be letting everybody down.

I’m done with hiding things and not being me. A lie by omission is just as bad as a bold faced lie. If the truth hurts, then let it. Didn’t someone say true beauty can stem from ugliness?

Truthfully yours,

Casey

 

This has been another week of Me, being honest.

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

