Week 9

This week I was sporting a hickey on my neck. (Sorry Mom!) A friend asked me who it was from and I wasn’t really keen on answering, but then he started guessing. Now let me tell you that I didn’t want to answer because it was from his ex.  He guessed correctly to which I looked at him and answered, “Well you know I can’t lie.” It was fine. We shared a bit of a laugh over it and decided later we would discuss the matter.

In a relationship it’s important to be on the same page. I’m not in one, but if you’re ever on the path to one it’s crucial to make sure that both people see eye to eye. I had a few long talks this weekend about what I need, what I want, and what I expect from others. Clarity is key in any potential relationship so I made sure to voice exactly how I felt, when I did this I was praised for my honesty. I have a lot of figuring out to do in life and I deserve to be happy. Honesty is the key to any relationship. People like knowing that they are worth the truth.

This week at work I gave a tour to a girl who was interested in my major but wasn’t sure if she should even finish applying to my University. After the tour she was highly interested and I talked with her for a half hour afterwards just discussing the possibilities of her major and if she would be a good fit here. I was honest and her mom seemed to appreciate it. I had a lot of useful information for them, I even went into detail about my struggle with deciding where to attend. They left happy and she told me she would finish applying.

I hear something from a friend. I hear something different from another friend. I hear so many different versions of the “truth” I don’t know what to believe anymore. It’s so disheartening to hear different things about different people. Recently this week I had heard mixed stories, rumors, lies, and truths about a few people I know and it sucks knowing you are being lied to. It’s a shame to know that certain people have to cover up who they are or what they do. If this project has done anything for me, (besides slowly ruin my life, I tease) it’s forced me to avoid any situations I would want to lie about. I’m finding myself more upfront about everything, even when I don’t want to be.

If I’ve learned anything this week, it’s that it’s so hard to be honest with yourself. It can hurt and it can be scary, but if you can be truthful with yourself, there’s not a lot else in life that can scare you.

Truthfully yours,

Casey

About Casey

Seeking happiness while only telling the truth
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

